stephenbrooks.orgForumMuon1Bug Reportstwo instances of muonbackground running
Username: Password:
Search site:
Subscribe to thread via RSS
De Bug
2002-11-14 08:35:12
I've found how two instances of muonbackground can get started.
On Win98SE when i go to Start->Log Off the running instance of muonbackground will not terminate and the new one will start when i log in as differen user
Herb[Romulus2]
2002-11-14 11:35:55
forget it, I was mislead somehow
Stephen Brooks
2002-11-14 11:47:09
I started coding this but it now looks like a no-go idea: I can have the program check for a mutex with a name like "c:/ral/muon1 (Muon1)" when it starts, so you can run multiple instances in different directories, but not the same one.  If such a thing exists, the program quits, otherwise it creates one and continues.  Problem is, how does it get rid of it when it stops running?  I mean yeah, if all Muon1 sessions stopped via the (Q)uit command I'd be able to get rid of it, but if someone decides to stop it with Ctrl-Alt-Del, the mutex is left in memory, meaning the user either has to move Muon1 to another dir (or rename), or restart their computer - kind of annoying.