stephenbrooks.orgForumMuon1Bug ReportsRandom Crashing,
Username: Password:
Search site:
Subscribe to thread via RSS
Pollock[Romulus2]
2003-07-08 13:05:49
I have been running the v4.31c client since it was first released on two different computers.  In the last 48 hours, the client has randomly crashed 9 different times.  Five times on one machine and four times on the other.  One machine produces error messages(example below) and the other just crashes quietly. 

Error message from machine #1:
The instruction at "0x77fcb261" referenced memory at "0x0022bbf0". The memory could not be "read".

Debug of the same error produces, no clue what this means, I am not a programmer:
Unhandled exception in muon1_background.exe(NTDLL.DLL) : 0xC0000005:Access Violation.  NOTE: I had to leave a space between the ) and : and 0 characters or it created a smilie.

Two of the crashes occured during re-checks of a large result. 
One occurence created a auto.sav file, then crashed immediately.
Seven crashes during idle time, Two crashes while i was working on other things.
No obvious rogue results were generated during this period, as far as I can tell.

The only common threads I can think of between the two machines:
Both are runing Windows 2000.
Both are using the same .dat file, but do not see results from the other machine.
Both are Athlons.  1) Xp2000+ 2)T-Bird 1200

What I have tried:
Re-installed v4.31c on both machines.
Changed the .dat file and ran it through Michal's DataUtility to remove dupes, etc.
Switched the .dat file to Herb's(Rom2) rechecked-only file.  So far, no crashing, but it has only been a few hours.

If you have any idea what is causing this or anything else I can try, it would be greatly appreciated.  I will find out eventually if the .dat change makes a difference.
px3
2003-07-10 11:48:11
Hi Pollock,

reduce the results.dat file down to a size less than 4 mb .. that should fix the bug..

Regards,

PX3
Pollock[Romulus2]
2003-07-10 12:13:37
Thanks, px3.