stephenbrooks.orgForumMuon1Q&AChoices of Work
Username: Password:
Search site:
Subscribe to thread via RSS
Ripper
2003-11-17 14:44:59
I am fairly new to this.  I have several computers that were running SETI, that I wanted to switch over to this project, but am unable to get them work.  All computers but my main computer are disconnected from everything.  I would like to give them work to do. 

I saw messages about FTPing the work down and back up, but don't see where the files can be downloaded.  I also saw something about the size of files that can be downloaded and don't see that either. 

I am running the command line version as it is typically faster than GUI, but that is far as I can actually see choices.  Can anyone help?

With the new version, FTP is automated and so don't see anything.  When I went up to the FTP site, the only option was to add an ftp site, which I don't want to do.

THANKS IN ADVANCE.
Boots
2003-11-17 21:23:37
Hi Ripper, welcome.
OK I believe this is a way of doing what you require.
Copy across the whole folder (Muon or what you called it) to your other PC's, that do not have an Internet connection.
Delete the files results.dat and results.txt from the PC you copy too, the will be generated again after a first run.
On each PC edit config.txt and change the line - Auto-send results ([Y]es, [N]o): N. This will not upload any data at any time.
On your PC connected you can upload data using the manual.bat now, this will upload data if the results.txt file is grater than 10k this will be deleted until the next run, and then regenerated. 
Before running again Cut and Paste one at a time each offline PC's results.txt file to your Muon folder that is online, manualsend, then restart all Muon again.  IF you wish to hang around for others to comment or need extra help or something you may not understand, I'll be around.

Boots

Life the Universe and Everything!
Stephen Brooks
2003-11-18 01:03:08