stephenbrooks.orgForumMuon1GeneralDatabase format (hypothetical)
Username: Password:
Search site:
Subscribe to thread via RSS
Stephen Brooks
2013-12-13 21:25:34
In theory I could store what are currently text files in a single database table with the columns:

String lattice, String user, String genome, Double score, Double mpts, String version, Hex checksum, Optional String comment

However, the lattice, user and version strings would be repeated many times: it might be more efficient to store them as IDs rather than names (and have ID->name mappings as three other tables).  That would leave only the genome and optional comment as strings in the main table.  Considering the genome is going to be the longest string, this won't save a huge amount of storage - but would it save time?  I'd expect indexing/sorting by ID is faster than by string but I'm not a database expert.  That's why I'm writing this on here in case anyone has an opinion.

To quickly detect repeats I'd probably have to index by the genome strings anyway -- or actually the checksums would do.  In the interests of speed I might want to maintain totals over every user, optimisation or combination of those (that could end up messy).

The "ultimate" solution would be to have the web front end query this directly in which case I'd add a table for team mappings.  It would also have the clients post to the database directly.  This potentially puts a lot of load on a single server, though.

The database would be about 75 million rows with ~1KB of data each, since its current size is >75GB.  This would be a pretty sizeable task and it's not something I anticipate doing until it becomes necessary for the project to continue.  But I thought I needed a plan figured out in advance.
Hannibal
2014-03-21 14:09:17
Little late answer, but I'm not very often here now...